2022 Australia Council Awards

Meet the recipients

  • Robert Dessaix (TAS) Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature
  • Dr Judy Bailey OAM (NSW) Australia Council Don Banks Music Award
  • Judith Pungarta Inkamala (NT) Australia Council Visual Arts Award
  • Dr Jenny Fraser (QLD) Australia Council Award for Emerging & Experimental Arts
  • Helen Herbertson (VIC) Australia Council Award for Dance
  • Susie Dee (VIC) Australia Council Award for Theatre
  • Pat Rix (SA) Australia Council Ros Bower Award for Community Arts and Cultural Development
  • Leah Jing McIntosh (VIC) Australia Council Kirk Robson Award for Community Arts and Cultural Development.


About the awards

The 2022 Australia Council Awards were showcased on this page on 8-12 August 2022. We invite all Australians to celebrate and share the stories of these extraordinary artists with us and your families and friends. Each of these artists in their own way reflect the vibrancy of Australia’s diverse cultural life.

‘Arts and creativity reflect who we are as a nation, helping us to see different perspectives and understand and connect across different experiences and cultures. They are crucial in understanding and shaping our sense of national identity.’
Adrian Collette AM, CEO, Australia Council.